2016 S.D. Harvey Short Story Award Submission Details

ACWA is pleased to announce that in 2016 Kill Your Darlings will again be publishing the winner of the S.D. Harvey Short Story Award.

The S.D. Harvey Short Story Award is an annual competition organised by the Australian Crime Writers Association (ACWA). It is part of the prestigious Ned Kelly Awards, celebrating the very best in Australian crime writing.

The award is named after the late writer, journalist and producer Sandra Harvey, who along with her partner in crime writing, Lindsay Simpson, blazed a trail not only for investigative, true crime writing in Australia, but also for women writers in the industry.

This year the first prize has increased to $1500, and we’re also introducing a second prize of $500. All shortlisted entries will also receive a year’s online subscription to KYD.

To read the guidelines and to make a submission, go to the submission page. Entries are open from now until Wednesday 15 June 2015.

The general entry fee is $15, or $10 for KYD subscribers and paid ACWA members. Conditions apply.

This year the judges for the award are the ACWA’s Michael Robotham and Dr Lindsay Simpson, and KYD Associate Editor Hop Dac.

Good luck to all the crime writers out there!