Heels dig in: Scarlet Stiletto Awards Crime Short Story Competition turns 24

The Scarlet Stiletto Awards had had great success in unearthing literary criminal talent over the past two decades.

To date, 3084 stories have been entered with 22 Scarlet Stiletto Award winners –including category winners – going on to have novels published: Cate Kennedy, Annie Hauxwell, Tara Moss, Angela Savage, Josephine Pennicott, Ellie Marney, Sara Evans, Inga Simpson, Alex Palmer, Liz Filleul, Margaret Bevege, Patricia Bernard, Bronwen Blake, Jo McGahey, Cheryl Jorgensen, Kylie Fox, Simmone Howell, Sandi Wallace, Amanda Wrangles, Emilie Collyer, Aoife Clifford and Anna Snoekstra.

“The great variety of awards on offer should appeal to all sorts of different literary sensibilities, from the cosy and romantically inclined to the hard-boiled and speculative – and those who like history with their mystery. Twenty-four years on, the awards’ heels are digging in,” Lobb said.

Closing date for the awards is 31 August 2017. Entry fee is $15 (Sisters in Crime members) or $20 (others). Maximum length is 5000 words.

To download an entry form, pay the entry fee and read the FAQs, go to https://www.sistersincrime.org.au/the-scarlet-stiletto-awards/

Add new comment

This question is for testing whether or not you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.