Ned Kelly Awards Ceremony will be in Melbourne on 28th August, 2016 4pm

Sun, 28/08/2016 - 4:00pm


252 Swanston St, Melbourne VIC 3000



Join us for a criminally good afternoon of live music, storytelling, prizes and laughter, as we present the annual Ned Kelly Awards for Australia’s finest crime writing.

Hosted by Jane Clifton, this FREE EVENT features some of our finest writers, barristers and colourful local identities telling stories about their life in crime before we present the Ned Kelly Awards for Best Fiction, First Fiction, True Crime and the S.D Harvey Short Story Award.


Vikki Petraitis

‘True stories were full of power because they were about real people and real suffering.’

Vikki Petraitis has been writing true crime books for nearly two decades. Her book on Frankston serial killer Paul Denyer has become a classic in the genre. Her website is

Leigh Redhead

Leigh Redhead's first novel, ‘Peepshow’, burst onto the crime fiction scene in 2004 introducing stripper turned private investigator Simone Kirsch. Simone has continued to thrill readers in Rubdown, Cherry Pie and Thrill City. Her website is

Phillip Dunn

One of Australia's leading defence barristers Philip Dunn QC will be shooting the breeze. The Dunnster has defended many high profile clients including Gary Ablett, Carmen Lawrance, Herman Rockefeller and the Great Bookie Robbery crooks. The prominent Melbourne silk specialises in criminal cases notably murder, conspiracy, corporate and tax fraud, drug matters and sex crimes.

Jim O'Brien

Former Detective Inspector Jim O'Brien is well known as one of the highest profile police operatives in Australia. He was in charge of Victoria Police's Purana Task Force and the man responsible for bringing back Tony Mokbel to Australia and breaking up his widespread networks of organised crime. His and his team's work forms the basis of the hugely popular Underbelly television programs.

Shamini Flint

Shamini Flint is based in Singapore where she worked at an International Law Firm before turning her hand to writing both children's books and the very popular Inspector Singh series. Her website is

Michael Robotham

Gold Dagger winning author Michael Robotham is one of Australia’s most celebrated crime writers, whose psychological thrillers have been translated into 22 languages and won praise from the likes of Stephen King, J.K. Rowling and Lee Child. Michael is the current chair of the Australian Crimewriters Association. His website is


Lifetime Achievement Award

This year the Australian Crimewriters Association will honour Carmel Shute with a Lifetime Achievement Award. As a founder and national co-convener of Sisters in Crime Australia, Carmel has spent 25 years supporting and nurturing Australian women crime writers.






Food and drinks can be purchased at the venue and the band will hit the stage around 4.00pm.


Parental discretion is advised.



Ned Kelly Awards Ceremony will be in Melbourne on 28th August, 2016 4pm | Australian Crime Writers Association


The website encountered an unexpected error. Please try again later.