Latest Updates

2018 S.D. Harvey Award Announcement
The Australian Crime Writers Association, its members and the crime writing community worldwide were deeply saddened to learn of the death of Peter Temple.
By Craig Sisterson, former Ned Kelly Awards judge and founder of the Ngaio Marsh Awards
ASA Crime Writing workshop with Barry Maitland
Submissions to the 2018 Ned Kelly Awards are now open (with the S.D. Harvey's to be announced as soon as possible).
Announcing the Winners of the 2017 New England Thunderbolt Prizes for Crime Writing
An audio adaptation of Alan Carter’s crime novel Prime Cut has been shortlisted for a BBC Audio Drama Award while lead actor Andrew Leung has been nominated for Best Debut Performance.
Nambucca Valley Writers Group invites entries in its So Bad It’s Good Writing Competition.
The César Egido Serrano Foundation launches the V International Flash Fiction Competition.
Given Australia's insatiable appetite for true crime on the screen, as well as in print and podcasting, you might expect police to be frustrated with how their work is portrayed.
The 2017 Ned Kelly Awards Tribute to the great Peter Corris.
Announcement: 2017 Ned Kelly Award Winners
Announcement: 2017 S.D. Harvey Award Shortlist
Announcement: 2017 Ned Kelly Award Shortlists
The 2017 Ned Kelly Awards Shortlist will be announced on the 12th August at the Mudgee Readers' Festival.
The inaugural BAD: Sydney Crime Writers Festival explores what crime can tell us about humanity, both contemporary and historical. Writers, detectives, film-makers, ex-judges and others will consider this and also Sydney’s unique relationship with crime.
$8600 is on offer in prize money this year. Stories must have a crime or mystery theme with a female hero or anti-hero. The awards are amongst the richest short story competitions in Australia.
Launched in 2008, this program is a creative and professional skills development intensive that helps emerging Australian writers to refine an existing manuscript.
2017 S.D. Harvey Short Story Award entries now open!
Courtesy of Dr Stuart Dawon, History Department, Monash University we've been given an opportunity to enjoy a downloadable transcript of G.W. Hall’s rare 1879 book, “The Kelly Gang, or, the Outlaws of the Wombat Ranges”.