The 2019 Ned Kelly Awards Categories:

Best Fiction

This award is for the best crime novel / work of fiction by an Australian author, published during the Judging Period (see below). The broadest definition of the crime novel defines eligible books including thrillers, suspense novels and spy fiction.

Best First Fiction 

This award is for the best first crime novel / work of fiction by an Australian author, published during the Judging Period (see below), which is a debut work by this author. Debut work takes into account any novels by the author that have been published in an alternative genre / category OR under a pseudonym including as self-published works. The broadest definition of the crime novel defines eligible books that are set in any period and include, but are not limited to, spy fiction and/or action/ adventure stories/thrillers/ mysteries.

Best True Crime 

This award is for any non-fiction work on a crime related theme by an Australian author as the book was first published in the Judging Period (see below). This award encompasses, though is not limited to, non-fiction works relating to true crime, historical crime, crime-related biography, autobiography and crime-fiction guides.

Submit Today

Note: Submissions are open from now until March 31 2019. Please read the guidelines below before submitting. A book may only be entered in ONE of the categories above.

Submission Guidelines

An entry in the categories of Best Fiction, Best First Fiction, or True Crime must meet the following guidelines:

  • The author must be an Australian by birth or citizenship; OR The author’s principal residence must be in Australia.

  • Publishers or individual authors may submit entries to the awards.

  • When submitting publishers must have a current membership.

  • Authors must be members of the ACWA to be eligible to enter in their own right (not necessary if publisher is submitting for them). You can join here.

  • Any Australian publisher may enter books provided that the book is relevant to the appropriate award.

  • Non-Australian publishers can enter books provided that the author meets the Australian residency / birth criteria.

  • Ebook submissions are preferred. Acceptable ebook formats are epub or mobi only. If possible please submit in both formats to ensure compatibility with widest range of e-readers. *

  • Physical books can be submitted if ebook versions aren’t available. If submitting physically, we require four (4) copies of each book be sent to the following address:

    Ned Kelly Awards
    PO Box 122, Wellers Hill
    QLD 4121

  • If mailing physical books, please put them in the mail before filling out the entry form.

  • Judging Period: Eligible books must be the first edition of the said work, published within the specified dates of the judging period – from March 1 of the preceding year (2018) until the last day of February in the award year (2019).

  • An entry fee of $50 applies to the submission of each title. Each title must be entered via a separate form.

  • Complete each submission via the relevant form linked above.

  • Do not submit ebooks in WORD or PDF format - neither are valid ebook formats.

  • Gifting books via Amazon or similar will not work as we need to distribute to multiple judges - you will need to attach your mobi or epub file to the submission.

  • Entries are due 31/3/2019.