Headland

What happens when a drug dealer is forced to turn detective?

Meet Bill Murdoch, the world's most reluctant private investigator.

Bill Murdoch’s doing just fine, thanks for not asking. He’s dealing drugs for a professional crime syndicate in Sydney and saving for a house by the sea. But what does he think life is - a fairy tale?

As the syndicate puts pressure on him to fill the shoes of his murdered boss, Murdoch is cornered by an equally formidable foe: the Australian Tax Office demanding an explanation for his sizeable cash income.

Murdoch spins a beautiful lie, telling tax inspector, Hannah Simms, he’s a private detective. When Simms asks him to investigate the mystery of her niece's disappearance, Murdoch grabs what he thinks is a golden opportunity to outrun the syndicate. But his arrival in the missing girl's small coastal home town causes an unexpected stir and the reluctant PI soon realises his troubles are only just beginning.

HEADLAND is noir crime at its best, a thriller to keep you guessing until the very end.

HEADLAND is the first book in the Bill Murdoch Mystery series. It is perfect for fans of Alan Furst, Peter Temple, Adrian McKinty, and anyone who enjoys Kate Atkinson’s ‘Jackson Brodie’ series.

Bad-boy-turned-local-hero, Bill Murdoch, will return for more hardboiled noir adventures in the sequels CLASS ACT, and BASE NATURE.

For exclusive news on upcoming books, visit: www.gedgillmore.com

Publication Date: 
Wednesday, October 11, 2017
Author: 
Ged Gillmore

Ged Gillmore grew up in the Midlands of England before moving to London where he completed degrees in languages and literature at the University of London.

After graduating, Ged worked in France, Germany and Italy before returning to London for eighteen years where he gained experience in a variety of roles including the police service, the film industry and banking. Fancying a change to sunnier climes, Ged made the leap to Sydney in early 2004.

When he's not falling off his surfboard at Bondi or dabbling with a day job which pays the bills he sits at his laptop and bashes out fiction. 

In October 2017, Ged launches Headland - the first book in the new 'Bill Murdoch Mystery' series. Headland kicks off the hard-boiled adventures of Bill Murdoch, a lovable English rogue, as he tries to leave his criminal past behind him and adapt to a new life as a private investigator in small town Australia. Murdoch will return in the sequels, Class Act, and Base Nature (in late 2017 / early 2018). For more information and exclusive advance extracts, visit: http://www.gedgillmore.com/