Ned Kelly Awards

ACWA Pays Tribute: Peter Corris

Chairman of ACWA, Michael Robotham, paid tribute to Peter Corris - you can watch the video of the night here, and the full text of Michael's words on the night are below:


You often hear writers referred to as the King or the Queen, or Godfather of a particular genre or style. Sometimes such kudos is overblown, or misplaced. I remember when my first novel came out, I met British crime writer, who shall remain nameless. Rather nervously, I approached and said,

Announcing the 2017 Ned Kelly Award Winners

Irish-Australian writer Adrian McKinty has won his second Ned Kelly Award for Best Crime Fiction with his intriguingly titled novel, Police at The Station and They Don't Look Friendly.

Number six of his celebrated Sean Duffy series, the story is set during The Troubles in Northern Ireland, and impressed the competition judges for being 'lyrical and tender, laugh-out-loud funny, and heart-stoppingly suspenseful.'

Ned Kelly Shortlists to be Announced at Mudgee Readers' Festival - 12th August

Judging has now been completed, the results have been tallied, and Michael Robotham will be announcing the 2017 Ned Kelly Awards shortlists at the Mudgee Readers' Festival during the Trivia Most Foul event on the 12th August between 6.00pm and 8.30pm. The list will go live on the website at or around 8.30pm.

Winner of our Shortlist Competition

As part of the 20th Anniversary Ned Kelly Awards celebrations we ran a competition to guess the winners. The trick was to get all 3 categories right, and to get your entry in first.

You needed to guess Best First: Quota by Jock Serong; Best True Crime: This House of Grief by Helen Garner and Best Crime: Eden by Candice Fox 

And we're happy to advise that our winner Devita has been advised and the books are being packed up and sent on their way now.

Announcing the 2015 Ned Kelly Winners

Acclaimed author, journalist and screenwriter Helen Garner has won the 2015 Ned Kelly Award for Australia’s Best True Crime book for ‘This House of Grief – the Story of a Murder Trial’.

It is the second Ned Kelly Award for Garner, who picked up her previous award ten years ago with ‘Joe Cinque’s Consolation’ – another account of a murder that involved revenge, jealousy and betrayal.