The Australian Crime Writing Association is dedicated to promoting greater recognition for crime, thriller and mystery writing in Australia and to protect the general professional interests of all creators of crime and mystery works. But we’re not just here for the professionals. We want to provide something for everyone who is devoted to the crime genre.

As organisers of the annual Ned Kelly Awards, we aim to celebrate the very best in Australian crime writing. Past winners read like a who’s who of Australian crime writing, including the likes of Jon Cleary, Peter Corris, Gabrielle Lord, Peter Temple and Garry Disher.

We also celebrate new and up-and-coming talent with the Best First Fiction award, as well as excellence in true crime writing with the True Crime Ned Kelly award.

To stay in the loop with all our latest updates on awards, events and publications, you can sign up to our newsletter.


ACWA Membership

If you are a crime writer, reviewer, editor, agent, publisher or a committed crime reader you should become a member of the Australian Crime Writers Association to help promote crime writing and reading in Australia.

Membership is open to published crime writers, with associate membership also offered to those in the publishing industry and associated fields, as well as to crime readers and fan(atic)s.