The Ned Kelly Awards 2019 Longlist Announced

Logo 1_booktopia (1).png

Thursday July 25: The Australian Crime Writing Association have announced the longlist for the NED KELLY AWARDS 2019. Now in its 24th year the Awards are Australia’s oldest and most prestigious crime writing awards.

Named after the most infamous criminal in Australian history, the awards honour the best crime fiction and true crime writing in the country. Past winners have included Jon Cleary, Peter Corris, Adrian McKinty, Jane Harper, Helen Garner, Peter Temple and Michael Robotham. This year has seen the largest number of entries received in the Awards’ history. 

ACWA’s Deputy Chair, Robert Goodman said, “This year’s Long Lists for the Ned Kelly Awards is indicative of the diversity and breadth of the Australian crime-writing scene. In 2019, we’ve received the largest number of entries ever in the Award’s twenty-three year history. We’re looking forward to this year’s Neds taking place for the first time in Sydney and in conjunction with the BAD Sydney Crime Writers Festival.” 

This year for the first time, the awards will be held in Sydney on Friday September 6 as part of the BAD Sydney Crime Writers Festival. The event will be held at the Harold Park Tramsheds and will be MCed by Jane Clifton. Recognised internationally, the ‘Neds’ hold a unique place in the literary awards calendar.

The Ned Kelly Awards are proudly supported by Booktopia.

SD Harvey Short Story Awards

Submissions are now open for the 2019 SD Harvey Short Story Awards.


The SD Harvey will from this year be hosted by the NRMA Kennedy Awards. It continues to be open to writers of fiction and non-fiction, including journalists.

The rules are the same as past years: a ripping yarn of between between 3,000 and 5,000 words. And there have been plenty of these in the nine years the award has been run. This year, there's a cash prize, as well as a sail to Whitehaven for two on a traditional classic schooner. Further details are available here.

Sandra Harvey, journalist and author

Sandra Harvey, journalist and author

Lindsay Simpson established the award in memory of her former true crime writing partner Sandra Harvey, commemorate Sandra's life and legacy in writing crime., including Brothers in Arms, My Husband My Killer and The Ghost of Ludwig Gertsch.

Registration for the S.D. Harvey Short Crime Story Award can be made via the award page. In line with all other Kennedy Awards, an entry fee of $50 applies. Entry material for the award – with S.D. Harvey Award in the subject line – can be submitted for judging from now until 6pm on July 1, 2019, via


If you have any questions, please feel free to email Lindsay Simpson on

Finalists will be announced on July 24, 2019.